Past Recipients of The Fultonian of the Year Award

1987 Rev. Joseph R. Fahey, SJ John Neuhauser 1988 1989 Kevin P. Duffy 1990 Rev. J. Donald Monan, SJ Robert Sherwood 1991 1992 Bernie O'Kane 1993 Rev. Charles Donovan, SJ 1994 Donald J. White 1995 Margaret Dwyer 1996 Frank Campanella 1997 Gail McGrath 1998 Marilyn Matelski Carole Hughes 1999 Kevin P. Duffy 2000 2001 Dorman Picklesimer, Jr. 2002 Joseph F. Quinn 2003 Howard Singer 2004 Donald A. Fishman John Neuhauser 2005 2006 Patricia DeLeeuw 2007 Joseph T. McLaughlin Barbara Viechnicki 2008 John L. Mahoney, Jr. 2009 2010 John J. Burns 2011 Dale Herbeck & John Katsulas 2012 Bonnie Jefferson 2013 Patrick Waldinger 2014 William Stanwood 2015 Rita Rosenthal 2017 Grace Peters



The Great Wall in Gasson 305 honoring past winners of the Fulton Prize Debate

The Fulton Debating Society thanks the following offices for their continued support:

> Office of the Provost and Dean of Faculties

College of Arts and Sciences

Communication Department

FULTON DEBATING SOCIET Y St. Mary's Hall South Room 360A T: (617) 552-4298 F: (617) 552-2286 W: http://www.bc.edu/fultondebate

THE 126 TH ANNUAL FULTON PRIZE DEBATE



19 April 2018 7:30 p.m. The Fulton Debate Room (Gasson Hall 305)

TONIGHT'S PROGRAM

Resolved: "That the United States should establish a system of single-payer health insurance."

Explanation of the Debate Format by John Katsulas Director of Debate

First Affirmative Constructive Noah Valdez '21 8 minutes

Cross Examination 3 minutes

First Negative Constructive Nicholas Wong '20 8 minutes

Cross Examination 3 minutes

Second Affirmative Constructive Conner Coles '20 8 minutes

> Cross Examination 3 minutes

Second Negative Constructive Ben Dewhurst '21 8 minutes

Cross Examination 3 minutes

First Negative Rebuttal Nicholas Wong '20 4 minutes

First Affirmative Rebuttal Noah Valdez '21 4 minutes

Second Negative Rebuttal Ben Dewhurst '21 4 minutes

Second Affirmative Rebuttal Conner Coles '20 4 minutes

Questions from the Audience



Members of the Fulton Debating Society 2017-2018

Jenna Bilak '19 Connor Coles '20 Ben Dewhurst '21 Richard Jove '21 Dan Moyer '20 Alec Navori '21 Ado Jean-Noel '21 Eva Ottum '20 Noah Valdez '21 Nicholas Wong '20 Clair Wortsman '20 Jane Wu '20

Coaching Staff

John Katsulas Director of Debate

Christy Webster-Dunn Debate Coach