Past Recipients of The Fultonian of the Year Award

1987 Rev. Joseph R. Fahey, SJ

1988 John Neuhauser

1989 Kevin P. Duffy

1990 Rev. J. Donald Monan, SJ

1991 Robert Sherwood

1992 Bernie O'Kane

1993 Rev. Charles Donovan, SJ

1994 Donald J. White

1995 Margaret Dwyer

1996 Frank Campanella

1997 Gail McGrath

1998 Marilyn Matelski

1999 Carole Hughes

2000 Kevin P. Duffy

2001 Dorman Picklesimer, Jr.

2002 Joseph F. Quinn

2003 Howard Singer

2004 Donald A. Fishman

2005 John Neuhauser

2006 Patricia DeLeeuw

2007 Joseph T. McLaughlin

2008 Barbara Viechnicki

2009 John L. Mahoney, Jr.

2010 John J. Burns

2011 Dale Herbeck & John Katsulas

2012 Bonnie Jefferson

2013 Patrick Waldinger

2014 William Stanwood

2015 Rita Rosenthal

2017 Grace Peters



The Great Wall in Gasson 305 honoring past winners of the Fulton Prize Debate

The Fulton Debating Society thanks the following offices for their continued support:

Office of the Provost and Dean of Faculties

College of Arts and Sciences

Communication Department

FULTON DEBATING SOCIETY St. Mary's Hall South Room 360A T: (617) 552-4298 F: (617) 552-2286 W: http://www.bc.edu/fultondebate

THE 127_{TH} ANNUAL FULTON PRIZE DEBATE



30 April 2019 7:00 p.m. The Fulton Debate Room Gasson Hall 305

TONIGHT'S PROGRAM

Resolved: "The United States should adopt compulsory voting in federal elections."

Explanation of the Debate Format

By John Katsulas

Director of Debate

First Affirmative Constructive Sophia Carter '22 7 minutes

Cross Examination
3 minutes

First Negative Constructive Nicholas Wong '20 7 minutes

Cross Examination
3 minutes

Second Affirmative Constructive
Ben Dewhurst '21
7 minutes

Cross Examination 3 minutes

Second Negative Constructive Noah Valdez '21 7 minutes

Cross Examination 3 minutes

First Negative Rebuttal
Nicholas Wong '20
4 minutes

First Affirmative Rebuttal Sophia Carter '22 4 minutes

Second Negative Rebuttal Noah Valdez '21 4 minutes

Second Affirmative Rebuttal
Ben Dewhurst '21
4 minutes

Questions from the Audience

Photo: 2019 ADA Nationals at the University of Georgia



Members of the Fulton Debating Society 2018-2019

Sophia Carter '22

Ben Dewhurst '21

Richard Jove '21

Dan Moyer '20

Ado Jean-Noel '21

Eva Ottum '20

Noah Valdez '21

Nicholas Wong '20

Clair Wortsman '20

June Wu '20

Coaching Staff

John Katsulas
Director of Debate

Adam Lee Debate Coach